Arria® 10 Transceiver PHY User Guide

ID 683617
Date 4/01/2024
Document Table of Contents

3. PLLs and Clock Networks

This chapter describes the transceiver phase locked loops (PLLs), internal clocking architecture, and the clocking options for the transceiver and the FPGA fabric interface.

As shown in the following figure, transceiver banks can have either three or six transceiver channels. For every three channels, you get one advanced transmit (ATX) PLL, one fractional PLL (fPLL), and one Master clock generation block (CGB). Refer to the Device Transceiver Layout section to identify which devices have three channel transceiver banks.

The Arria 10 transceiver clocking architecture supports both bonded and non-bonded transceiver channel configurations. Channel bonding is used to minimize the clock skew between multiple transceiver channels. For Arria 10 transceivers, the term bonding can refer to PMA bonding as well as PMA and PCS bonding. Refer to the Channel Bonding section for more details.

Figure 168. Arria 10 PLLs and Clock Networks