Intel® Arria® 10 Core Fabric and General Purpose I/Os Handbook

ID 683461
Date 10/25/2023
Document Table of Contents

4.1.2. Hierarchical Clock Networks

Arria® 10 devices cover 3 levels of clock networks hierarchy. The sequence of the hierarchy is as follows:

  1. GCLK, RCLK, PCLK, and GCLK and RCLK feedback clocks
  2. Section clock (SCLK)
  3. Row clocks

Each HSSI and I/O column contains clock drivers to drive down shared buses to the respective GCLK, RCLK, and PCLK clock networks.

Arria® 10 clock networks (GCLK, RCLK, and PCLK) are routed through SCLK before each clock is connected to the clock routing for each HSSI or I/O bank. The settings for SCLK are transparent. The Quartus® Prime software automatically routes the SCLK based on the GCLK, RCLK, and PCLK networks.

Each SCLK spine has a consistent height, matching that of HSSI and I/O banks. The number of SCLK spine in a device depends on the number of HSSI and I/O banks.

Figure 51. SCLK Spine Regions for Arria® 10 Devices

Arria® 10 devices provide a maximum of 33 SCLK networks in the SCLK spine region. The SCLK networks can drive six row clocks in each row clock region. The row clocks are the clock resources to the core functional blocks, PLLs, and I/O interfaces, and HSSI interfaces of the device. Six unique signals can be routed into each row clock region. The connectivity pattern of the multiplexers that drive each SCLK limits the clock sources to the SCLK spine region. Each SCLK can select the clock resources from GCLK, RCLK, LPCLK, or SPCLK lines.

The following figure shows SCLKs driven by the GCLK, RCLK, PCLK, or GCLK and RCLK feedback clock networks in each SCLK spine region. The GCLK, RCLK, PCLK, and GCLK and RCLK feedback clocks share the same SCLK routing resources. To ensure successful design fitting in the Quartus® Prime software, the total number of clock resources must not exceed the SCLK limits in each SCLK spine region.

Figure 52. Hierarchical Clock Networks in SCLK Spine