Morphological Antialiasing (MLAA)

ID 671670
Updated 8/15/2012
Version Latest



Morphological Antialiasing (MLAA)

Intel Corporation

Features / Description

MLAA is an image-based, post-process filtering technique which identifies discontinuity patterns and blends colors in the neighborhood of these patterns to perform effective anti-aliasing. It is the precursor of a new generation of real-time antialiasing techniques that rival MSAA. This sample is based on the original, CPU-based MLAA implementation provided by Reshetov in 2009, with improvements to greatly increase performance. The improvements are:

  • Integration of a new, efficient, easy-to-use tasking system implemented on top of Intel® Threading Building Blocks (Intel® TBB).
  • Integration of a new, efficient, easy to use pipelining system for CPU onloading of graphics tasks.
  • Improvement of data access patterns through a new transposing pass.
  • Increased use of Intel® SSE instructions to optimize discontinuities detection and color blending.


This sample also contains MLAA implementation for Intel HD graphics, called separable antialiasing (SAA). It runs 2.5x faster than previous state-of-the-art GPU implementations of MLAA, achieving about 1000 fps for a 1 Mpixel image resolution on Intel’s latest graphics hardware.

Viewing the found edges can be helpful when debugging MLAA. The MLAA sample contains a zoom box to compare different anti-aliasing techniques.

System Requirements


  • CPU: Dual core or better (Intel® Core™ i5 or better suggested)
  • GFX: Microsoft DirectX* 9c capable graphics card
  • OS: Microsoft Windows Vista* (x64 editions) or Microsoft Windows* 7 (x64 editions)
  • MEM: 2 GB of RAM or better


Toolkits Supported:
  • Microsoft DirectX* SDK (June 2010 release or later)
  • Microsoft Windows* SDK May 2010

Compilers Supported:
Libraries Required:

Morphological Antialiasing (MLAA)


    This software is subject to the U.S. Export Administration Regulations and other U.S. law, and may not be exported or re-exported to certain countries (Burma, Cuba, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Sudan, and Syria) or to persons or entities prohibited from receiving U.S. exports (including Denied Parties, Specially Designated Nationals, and entities on the Bureau of Export Administration Entity List or involved with missile technology or nuclear, chemical or biological weapons).