Intel® Quartus® Prime Pro Edition User Guide: Debug Tools

ID 683819
Date 12/04/2023
Public
Document Table of Contents
Give Feedback

8.3.4. Customizing, Saving, and Resetting the System Console Layout

The System Console GUI includes the default System Console layout (for general system-level debug) and Toolkit Explorer layout (for debugging with toolkits) layouts. These layouts are tailored for system level debug and running debug toolkits, respectively.

You can customize these layouts for your preferences in the System Console workspace, save and reload your custom layout, and reset the layout to default. When you re-load a design, System Console restores the last saved workspace associated with that design.

To customize the layout to suit your task flow and preferences:

Follow these steps to customize and save the Platform Designer layout:
  1. Click tabbed items on the View or Tools menus to display and then optionally arrange, remove, or group the items to suit your preferences:
    • Drag, drop, and group the items in the workspace to match your task flow and preferences.
    • Close or dock items that you are not using.
    • Dock items in the main frame as a group, or individually by clicking the tab control in the upper-right corner of the main frame.
    • Tool tips on the upper-right corner of the tabbed item suggest potential workspace arrangements, for example, restoring or disconnecting a tab from the workspace.
      Note: You cannot include the Autosweep, Dashboard, Eye Viewer, or Legacy Toolkits tabs from Tools menu in custom layouts. You must first close any of these items before saving a layout.
  2. To save the current workspace configuration as a custom layout, click View > Custom Layouts > Save and specify a layout Name. System Console saves the custom layouts and order in the layouts.ini file in project directory, and adds the layout to the Custom Layouts list.
    Figure 121. View Menu Layouts


  3. Use any of the following methods to change to another layout:
    • To revert the layout back to a default layout, click View > Reset to System Console Layout or View > Reset to Toolkit Explorer Layout.
    • To set your workspace to a previously saved layout, click View > Custom Layouts, and then select the custom layout.
  4. To import, export, delete or rename custom layouts, click View > Custom Layouts > Manage. The Manage Custom Layouts dialog box opens and allows you to apply a variety of functions that facilitate custom layout management.
    Figure 122. Manage Custom Layouts