Intel® RAID Controllers
RAID Level Support for Intel® RAID Controllers and Intel® RAID Modules

Intel® RAID Controllers and Intel® RAID Modules can support all, or a combination of, RAID levels 0, 1, 5, 6, 10, 50, and 60. Before purchasing or configuration decisions are made, verify the controller's RAID level support using the technical product specification, or the hardware user guide.

Controller RAID 0 RAID 1 RAID 5 RAID 6 RAID 10 RAID 50 RAID 60
SRCSAS18E x x x x x
SRCSAS144E x x x x x
SRCSASJV x x x x x x x
SRCSASRB x x x x x x x
SRCSASBB8I x x x x x x x
SRCSASLS4I x x x x x x x
SRCSASPH16I x x x x x x x
RS2BL040 x x x x x x x
RS2BL080 x x x x x x x
RS2MB044 x x x x x x x
RS2PI008 x x x x x x x
RS2WC040 x x x x x
RS2WC080 x x x x x
RS2WG160 x x x x x x x
RS2SG244 x x x x x x x
RT3WB080 x x x x x x x
RS25DB080 x x x x x x x
RS25GB008 1 1 1 1 1 1 1
RS25FB044 x x x (10/1E)
RS2VB080 x x x x x x x
RS2VB040 x x x x x x x
RS25NB008 x x x x x x x
RS25AB080 x x x x x x x
RS25SB008 x x x x x x x
RCS25ZB040 x x x x x x x
RCS25ZB040LX x x x x x x x
RS3FC044 x x x (10/1E)
RS3GC008 x x x (10/1E)
RS3UC080 x x x (10/1E)
RS3WC080 x x x x x
RS3DC040 x x x x x x x
RS3DC080 x x x x x x x
RS3SC008 x x x x x x x
Module RAID 0 RAID 1 RAID 5 RAID 6 RAID 10 RAID 50 RAID 60
RMS25CB040 x x x x x x x
RMS25CB080 x x x x x x x
RMT3CB080 x x x x x x x
RMS25PB040 x x x x x x x
RMS25PB080 x x x x x x x
RMT3PB080 x x x x x x x
RMS25JB040 x x x (10/1E)
RMS25JB080 x x x (10/1E)
RMS25KB040 x x x (10/1E)
RMS25KB080 x x x (10/1E)
RMS2MH080 x x x x x x x
RMS2AF040 x x x x x
RMS2AF080 x x x x x
RMS2LL040 x x x (10/1E)
RMS2LL080 x x x (10/1E)
SROMBSASMR x x x x x x x

1The Intel® RAID Controller RS25GB008 is an IT (integrated target) mode controller. IT mode is native SAS mode without RAID function.

Detailed descriptions of RAID types, the fault tolerance capabilities, performance characteristics, and capacity details can be found in the detailed RAID level descriptions.

More details can be found in the Intel® RAID Controller Software User Guide.

Descriptions of RAID levels

Level 0 (Striping): RAID 0 is a performance-oriented data mapping technique. Data written to the array are divided into stripes and written across the disks of the array. This procedure enables high I/O performance at a low cost but provides no redundancy.

RAID 1 (Mirroring): Provides redundancy by writing identical data to each member disk of the array. It operates with two disks that might use parallel access for high data-transfer rates when reading, but more commonly operates independently to provide high I/O transaction rates. Level 1 provides good data reliability and improves performance for read-intensive applications but at a relatively high cost. Minimum number of drives is two.

RAID 5 (Striping with parity): Provides redundancy with parity data distributed across all member disks. If a single disk fails, the array can be recovered from the data and parity information on the remaining disks. RAID 5 implementations suffer from poor performance for workloads that include many writes that are smaller than the capacity of a single stripe. Performance suffers because parity must be updated for each write. Minimum number of drives is three.

RAID 6 (Block-level striping with double distributed parity): Provides fault tolerance from two drive failures. The array continues to work with up to two failed drives. This function makes larger RAID groups more practical, especially for high-availability systems. RAID 6 has a performance penalty for write operations, because of the overhead associated with parity calculations. It does not have a performance penalty for read operations. Minimum number of drives is four.

RAID 10 (Striped mirrors): Redundancy is provided by the fact that all but one drive from each RAID 1 set could fail without damaging the data. RAID 10 provides good to excellent overall performance by combining the speed of RAID 0 with the redundancy of RAID 1 without requiring parity calculations. Minimum number of drives is four (two mirrored sets).

RAID 10/1E (Enhanced RAID or RAID 1E): Combines mirroring and data striping. This RAID level stripes data and copies of the data across all drives in the array. As with the standard RAID level 1, the data is mirrored, and the capacity of the logical drive is 50 percent of the array capacity. RAID 10/1E supports 3-10 drives.

RAID 50: Combines the block-level striping of RAID 0 with the distributed parity of RAID 5. RAID 50 improves on the performance of RAID 5 during writes, and provides better fault tolerance than a single RAID level does. A singe drive from each RAID 5 set could fail without data loss. RAID 50 requires a minimum of six drives.

RAID 60: Combines the block-level striping of RAID 0 with the distributed double parity of RAID 6. RAID 6 provides good redundancy in that two disks from each of the RAID 6 sets could fail without loss of data. Also, failures while a single disk is rebuilding in one RAID 6 set, do not lead to data loss. Striping helps increase capacity and performance without adding disks to each RAID 6 set. RAID 60 requires a minimum of eight drives.

Related topic
Intel® Server Boards and Intel® RAID Adapter Compatibility

This applies to:

Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25CB040
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25CB080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25JB040
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25JB080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25KB040
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25KB080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25PB040
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS25PB080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS2AF040
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS2AF080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS2LL040
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS2LL080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMS2MH080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMT3CB080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module RMT3PB080
Intel® Integrated RAID Module SROMBSASMR
Intel® RAID Controller RS25AB080
Intel® RAID Controller RS25DB080
Intel® RAID Controller RS25GB008
Intel® RAID Controller RS25NB008
Intel® RAID Controller RS25SB008
Intel® RAID Controller RS2BL040
Intel® RAID Controller RS2BL080
Intel® RAID Controller RS2MB044
Intel® RAID Controller RS2PI008
Intel® RAID Controller RS2SG244
Intel® RAID Controller RS2VB040
Intel® RAID Controller RS2VB080
Intel® RAID Controller RS2WC040
Intel® RAID Controller RS2WC080
Intel® RAID Controller RS2WG160
Intel® RAID Controller RS3DC040
Intel® RAID Controller RS3DC080
Intel® RAID Controller RS3SC008
Intel® RAID Controller RS3WC080
Intel® RAID Controller RT3WB080
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSAS144E
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSAS18E
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSASBB8I
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSASJV
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSASLS4I
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSASPH16I
Intel® RAID Controller SRCSASRB
Intel® RAID SSD Cache Controller RCS25ZB040
Intel® RAID SSD Cache Controller RCS25ZB040LX

Solution ID: CS-031788
Last Modified: 27-Jan-2015
Date Created: 04-Aug-2010