Intel Press Release

Next Generation Of Brilliant Thinkers Awarded $3 Million In Scholarships And Prizes

Students from China, Germany and the United States Each Win $50,000 Intel Young Scientist Scholarships

PORTLAND, Ore., May 14, 2004 - Three teens today won $50,000 scholarships at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) for projects exploring the ocean floor for clues on the earth's origin, computer science research that could lead to greatly enhanced computer graphics, and an inexpensive, scanning tunneling microscope.

Sarah Rose Langberg, Fort Myers, Florida; Uwe Treske, Grafenhainichen, Germany; and Yuanchen Zhu, Shanghai, China prevailed over more than 1,300 students to win the top prize and be named Intel Young Scientists.

"A passion for science and mathematics ensures that many of these Intel ISEF finalists will become tomorrow's great scientists and innovators," said Intel CEO Craig Barrett. "As these students complete their education and move into the workforce, I hope they will collaborate across national boundaries to help cure diseases, protect the environment and develop breakthrough technologies that may one day change the world."

Langberg, 17, won a top prize for her Earth and Space Sciences project titled, "Petrology, Morphology and Geochemistry of the Southern Juan de Fuca Ridge." Langberg conducted chemical investigations, ran a mathematical simulation and studied video footage from the ocean floor in her effort to explain the distinct features that characterize one of the earth's most active volcanic regions.

Treske's top prize resulted from his Physics project titled, "Low-cost Scanning Tunneling Microscope." To develop an inexpensive but powerful microscope that delivers an improvement in resolution over a normal light microscope, Treske, 18, used common materials such as a tungsten filament from light bulbs, recycled Styrofoam blocks and a standard PC sound card for digitizing the measuring signal.

Zhu, 19, won a top prize for his Computer Science project titled, "Real-Time Remeshing With Optimally Adapting Domain: A New Scheme for View-Dependent Continuous Levels-of-Detail Mesh Rendering." Zhu developed a method for generating high-quality, three-dimensional computer graphics that improves the level of detail while speeding up the time required for rendering precise images.

Student Awards by Region
More than 500 students received scholarships and prizes at the Intel ISEF. The following are the Best of Category awards by country:

United States:
  • Florida: Sarah Rose Langberg, 17, Canterbury School, Fort Myers for Earth and Space Sciences.
  • Kentucky: Allison Bailey Hewlett, 17, Christian Academy of Louisville for Gerontology.
  • New York: Henny Admoni, 18, John L. Miller-Great Neck North High School for Behavioral and Social Sciences.
  • Virginia: Brian Todd Rice, 17, Marion Senior High School for Mathematics.

  • Mountain
  • Colorado: Lauren Marie Smith, 17, Rampart High School, Colorado Springs for Botany.

  • Central
  • Illinois: Arun Poothatta Thottumkara, 18, Macomb High School for Chemistry.
  • Missouri: YunXiang Chu, 18, Ladue Horton Watkins High School, Saint Louis for Medicine and Health.
  • Ohio: Joline Marie Fan, 16, Upper Arlington High School for Engineering.
  • Texas: Russell Thomas Burrows, 15, Health Careers High School, San Antonio for Zoology.

  • West
  • Hawaii: Kiana Laieikawai Frank, 17, Kamehameha Secondary School, Honolulu for Environmental Sciences.

  • Canada:
  • Alberta: Vladislav Igorevich Lavrovsky, 17, Queen Elizabeth Senior High School, Calgary for Biochemistry.

  • China:
  • Shanghai: Yuanchen Zhu, 19, Shanghai Foreign Language School for Computer Science.

  • Germany:
  • Sachsen Anhalt: Uwe Treske, 18, Paul Gerhardt Gymnasium, Grafenhainichen for Physics.

  • Singapore:
  • Leslie Yee Ming Beh, 18, Raffles Junior College for Microbiology.

  • Other Major Awards
  • Henny Admoni, United States; Uwe Treske, Germany; and Yuanchen Zhu, China, won the Seaborg Stockholm International Youth Science Seminar (SIYSS) Award trip to attend the SIYSS event and the Nobel Prize Ceremonies in December 2004.
  • Christopher Michael Alexander Verlinden and Philip Alejandro Munoz of School of Science and Technology, Beaverton, Oregon, won the European Union Contest for Young Scientists, which is an all-expense paid trip to attend the EU Contest to be held in Dublin, Ireland in September 2004.
  • Si Yue Guo and Raphael Gervais of College Regina Assumpta, Montreal, Quebec, Canada won the MILSET (International Movement for Leisure in Science and Technology)-Expo-Sciences International award, which is an all-expense paid trip to the International Youth Science Exhibition in Dresden, Germany in July 2004.

  • For a complete list of all award recipients, visit

    Sponsored by Intel since 1997, the International Science and Engineering Fair is the world's largest pre-college science competition showcasing the world's most promising young scientists and inventors. Students competing in Portland emerged from a worldwide field of several million science fair participants during the past academic year. They then went on to compete with over 65,000 students at more than 500 regional Intel ISEF-affiliated science fairs around the world to win the right to attend the Intel ISEF.

    The fair has been administered for the past 55 years by Science Service, a nonprofit organization whose mission is to advance the understanding and appreciation of science among people of all ages through publications and educational programs. For more information about Science Service and the Intel ISEF, visit

    Intel's sponsorship of the Intel ISEF is part of the Intel® Innovation in Education initiative, a sustained commitment - in collaboration with educators and government leaders worldwide - to help prepare students to succeed in a knowledge-based economy.

    Intel is a registered trademark of Intel Corporation or its subsidiaries in the United States and other countries.

    * Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.