Intel Press Release

Intel Appoints Eleven New Vice Presidents

Company Also Selects Six New Intel Fellows

SANTA CLARA, Calif., December 20, 1996 -- Intel Corporation today announced the appointment of 11 new vice presidents and named six new Intel Fellows, an honorary title for the company.

Appointed to the post of vice president are Edwin G. Bauer, Louis J. Burns, Mark A. Christensen, John E. Davies, Luther G. Disney, Edward D. Ekstrom, Claude M. Leglise, Bruce H. Leising, Patricia Murray, William A. Swope, and James H. Yasso.

Edwin G. Bauer has been appointed vice president in the Sales and Marketing Group at Intel. As director of Americas sales and marketing, he is responsible for customer support in both North and South America. Bauer, 52, has been with Intel for 20 years. He was born in Yugoslavia, and received his degree from Loyola University in Chicago.

Louis J. Burns has been appointed vice president, Information Technology. Burns joined Intel in 1982 and is currently director of information technology. Burns, 39, is from St. Johns, Michigan, and studied Electrical Engineering at the University of Missouri.

Intel has appointed Mark A. Christensen vice president, Internet and Communications Group. He is general manager, network products division, responsible for the operational management of network products operations located in Oregon and Israel. Christensen, 37, has been with Intel for 14 years. He received his MBA from the University of Oregon and is from Fremont, Ohio.

John E. Davies has been appointed vice president, Desktop Products Group. Davies, 46, is director, consumer desktop marketing. He has worked for Intel since 1978. Davies was born in London, England and has a Ph.D. in Solid State Physics from London University.

Luther G. Disney has been appointed vice president of Intel's Technology and Manufacturing Group. Disney, 53, is director of corporate services and has been with Intel for 17 years. He was born in Louisville, Kentucky, and studied Industrial Psychology at Indiana University.

Edward D. Ekstrom has been appointed vice president, Internet and Communications Group and is general manager, systems management division. Ekstrom joined Intel in 1991 and has been instrumental in pioneering the area of desktop management standards and products. Ekstrom, 41, is from Salt Lake City and earned his MBA from Westminster College.

Appointed vice president in Intel's Content Group is Claude M. Leglise. is director, developer relations, responsible for making the connected PC the platform of choice for entertainment and education software. Leglise, 41, has been with Intel for 14 years. He was born in Paris, France, and has an MS in Electrical Engineering and an MBA from Stanford University.

Appointed vice president, Technology and Manufacturing Group is Bruce H. Leising. Leising, 41, is general manager of peripheral components manufacturing, having worked in several manufacturing facilities since he joined Intel in 1979. He is from South Bend, Indiana, and received his Electrical Engineering degree from the University of California, Berkeley.

Patricia Murray was appointed vice president, Human Resources, in November, 1996, and is director of Human Resources. Murray, 44, has been with Intel for six years, working on Intel's HR Legal staff. She received her JD from the University of Michigan. Murray was born in Detroit.

William A. Swope has been appointed vice president, Desktop Products Group. He is director, business clients, responsible for marketing Intel's complete product line of business clients. Swope, 50, has been with Intel for 17 years. He has an MSM degree from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and is from Cleveland, Ohio.

James H. Yasso is a new vice president, Desktop Products Group, and general manager of Intel's reseller products division. Yasso, 38, joined Intel in 1980 as a new college graduate with a degree in Systems and Information Science from Syracuse University. He was born in Warsaw, New York.

New Fellows Appointed
Intel has chosen six employees as new Intel Fellows, an honorary title recognizing outstanding technical achievement at the corporation. The new Intel Fellows are Gregory E. Atwood, Robert P. Colwell, Richard L. Coulson, Paul D. Madland, Uri C. Weiser and Ian A. Young.

Gregory E. Atwood is the director of flash memory architecture in Intel's Technology and Manufacturing Group. He is responsible for technology development and product design of Intel's first multi-level-cell flash memory product and for the technical definition of next generation flash technologies. Atwood, 41, is from Kansas City, Kansas, and received his MS in Physics from Purdue University.

New Intel Fellow Robert P. Colwell is IA32 architecture manager for the Microprocessor Products Group, leading the architecture team that is designing the next generation IA32 microprocessor. Colwell, 42, joined Intel in 1990 as a senior architect for the Pentium® Pro processor. He was born in Pittsburgh, PA, and received his Ph.D. from Carnegie-Mellon University.

Richard L. Coulson is I/O architecture manager in the Desktop Products Group, working in the platform architecture lab. Coulson, 40, joined Intel in 1983 and has received two Intel Achievement Awards, for developing a new I/O subsystem and for revolutionizing the I/O capabilities of the Standard High Volume Server. Coulson is from New York City and received his MS in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.

Intel Fellow Paul D. Madland currently holds the position of MD6 circuit technology manager in the Microprocessor Products Group. Madland, 46, has been with Intel for 16 years and won the Intel Achievement Award in 1996. His BS in Electrical Engineering is from the University of Arizona. Madland was born in Chicago.

Uri C. Weiser works in Intel's Microprocessor Products Group, as the director of Israel Development Center (IDC) architecture. His responsibilities include Pentium processor architecture and the definition of MMX™ technology. Weiser, 51, has been an Intel employee since 1988. He was born in Tel Aviv, Israel, and received his Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Utah, Salt Lake City.

Appointed a new Intel Fellow, Ian A. Young is director of advanced circuit and technology integration for Intel's Technology and Manufacturing Group. He has been the inventor/co-inventor for 14 patents issued to Intel during his 13 years with the company. Young, 45, was born in Melbourne, Australia, and earned his Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley.

* Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.