This article explains how information is shared between the Engage service and Instagram.
You can link your Instagram account to your Engage account. Once linked, photographs posted to your Instagram account during an Engage sports activity (called a trip), display on the Engage service.
If you link your Engage account to your Instagram account, your Engage account receives access to communicate with your Instagram account. This access allows Engage to obtain links to certain photographs, as described below.
Linking your Instagram account to your Engage account, does not give Engage access to you Instagram account login or Instagram profile data.
If you link your Engage account to your Instagram account, the Engage service automatically accesses your Instagram account when you add a trip to your Engage account. Engage accesses Instagram to obtain links to all photographs taken during your Engage trip. Engage uses those links to display the photographs on the Engage service.
Except for access to links for relevant photographs as described above, no other data is shared between the Engage service and Instagram. The Engage service does not post any data to Instagram.
Data transmits between the Engage service and Instagram, using Instagram’s designated procedures. These procedures include the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) protocol.
You can cancel the link between your Engage and Instagram accounts at any time. To cancel, use the functionality in your Engage account settings. If you de-link your Engage and Instagram accounts, then you can no longer display Instagram photographs on the Engage service.
De-linking does not stop the Engage service from displaying Instagram photographs posted while your Engage and Instagram accounts were linked. You can use Engage account settings to manually remove these previously posted Instagram photographs from the Engage service.
At any time, you can re-establish the link between your Engage and Instagram accounts.