Engage Linked Service - Facebook

Documentation

Product Information & Documentation

000024726

08/31/2017

This article explains how information is shared between the Engage service and Facebook. 

You can link your Facebook and Engage accounts, during your Engage account registration or using the Engage account settings. If you link your Facebook and Engage accounts, then you can post a link to information about your Engage sports activities (each of which is called a trip) to Facebook. To share to Facebook, user the sharing functionality in the Engage service. Photographs posted to your Facebook account during an Engage trip displays on the Engage service.

Linking

If you link your Engage account to Facebook, then your Engage account receives access to the following data from your Facebook account at the time of connection:

  • Public profile (name, profile picture and other information from the Facebook public profile)
  • Current city
  • Email
  • Birthday
  • Personal description
  • Friends list

After linking, your Engage account receives access to communicate with Facebook to obtain links to certain photographs, as described below.

Linking Facebook to an Engage account does not give the Engage account access to the Facebook account login information.

Data Sharing

If you register for an Engage account using your Facebook account information, then the Facebook data outlined above is used to create the Engage account.

If you link your existing Engage account to Facebook, then the Engage service uses your Facebook friends list to identify Facebook friends also using the Engage service.

If you link your Engage account to Facebook, then the Engage service automatically accesses your Facebook account when you add a trip to your Engage account. Engage service accesses Facebook to obtain links to all photographs taken during your Engage trip. The service uses those links to display the photographs.

Recon does not permanently download copies of any photographs from Facebook. Facebook photographs display on the Engage service. However, the photographs remain hosted by Facebook. Facebook governs photographs on their site by their privacy policies and terms of service. Refer to Facebook's privacy policy and terms of service to understand Facebook's privacy practices.

If you link your Engage account to Facebook, then you can use a sharing functionality in the Engage service to post to your Facebook page. You can post a link to information about the your trips on the Engage service. You can also post other information and media (such as photos) that you select to share on your Facebook page. The sharing functionality transfers the link and other information and media (selected by the user) about your trip from the Engage service to your Facebook page. The sharing functionality does not transfer any data from Facebook to the Engage service, other than a confirmation that you successfully posted on Facebook.

All links and other information and media about a trip posted to your Facebook page are governed by Facebook’s terms of service and privacy policy. Engage users must understand and comply with those terms of service and privacy policy.

Privacy

In order for a Facebook post to provide access to information about an Engage trip, the trip must be set as a Public. The Public setting means that the trip is publicly accessible. At any time change you can change a trip’s privacy settings to Friends Only (which provides access to the user’s Engage friends only) or Private. For more information, see the Engage Service - Data and Privacy article.

Security

Data transmits between the Engage service and Facebook, using Facebook’s designated procedures. These procedures include the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) protocol.

De-Linking

You can cancel the link between your Engage and Facebook accounts at any time. To cancel, use the functionality in the your Engage account settings. If your Engage and Facebook accounts are de-linked, then you can no longer use the post trip information to Facebook using the Engage service share functionality. In addition, the Engage service no longer displays Facebook photographs while the services are not linked.

De-linking does not affect information previously posted to Facebook. You have to remove those posts from Facebook. De-linking does not stop the Engage service from displaying Facebook photographs that were previously processed while Engage and Facebook linked. You can use the Engage account settings to manually remove previously processed photographs on Facebook from the Engage service.

At any time, you can re-establish the link between your Engage and Facebook accounts.