The browser version you are using is not recommended for this site.
Please consider upgrading to the latest version of your browser by clicking one of the following links.

Support

Delete a RAID 1 Mirror Without Losing Data


Last Reviewed: 30-Jun-2016
Article ID: 000006188

You should be able to delete a RAID 1 mirror without losing data if the RAID 1 volume is the only volume on the array or the first volume in a matrix RAID configuration.


Note Data loss can occur if the RAID 1 volume is the second volume in a matrix RAID configuration.

After you delete a RAID 1 volume or reset the hard drive members of the RAID 1 volume to non-RAID, you can access your data with one of the following options:

  • If the RAID 1 volume has an operating system, boot to either of the hard drives.
  • If the RAID 1 volume does not have an operating system, access your files on either of the hard drives from Windows*.