Intel Early Career Faculty Awardees

Intel’s Early Career Faculty Honor Program is an invite-only program for select universities in the United States. The program promotes the careers of faculty members who show great promise as future academic leaders in disruptive computing technologies. The program also fosters long-term collaborative relationships with senior Intel technical leaders. Congratulations to the recent honorees!

Laura Balzano, Assistant Professor, EE and CS, Michigan

Laura Balzano joined the University of Michigan in 2013, after completing her Ph.D. in electrical and computer engineering at the University of Wisconsin, Madison. Her Ph.D. was supported by a 3M Fellowship. She received the Best Dissertation award from the University of Wisconsin and the Outstanding M.S. Degree of the year from UCLA, where she received her master's degree in electrical engineering. She is an advocate for underrepresented groups in engineering, providing mentorship to women and minority race students while serving on several programs in this area. Professor Balzano and her students investigate problems in statistical signal processing and optimization, particularly dealing with large and messy data. She has worked in the areas of online algorithms, real-time computer vision, compressed sensing and matrix completion, network inference, and sensor networks.

Tyson Condie, Assistant Professor, CS, UCLA

Tyson Condie is an Assistant Professor at UCLA. He received his Ph.D. from Berkeley. Prior to joining UCLA, he worked at Microsoft as a Principal Scientist in the Cloud and Information Services Lab, and as a Research Scientist at Yahoo! Research. His research focus is in large-scale data analytics, distributed systems, and declarative language design and implementation. His current work involves building a system software stack for Big Data Analytics on cloud computing platforms.

Stelian Coros, Assistant Professor, Carnegie Mellon University

Dr. Coros is an Assistant Professor in the Robotics Institute at Carnegie Mellon University. Prior to joining CMU he was a Research Scientist working for Disney Research Zurich. He obtained his PhD in Computer Science from the University of British Columbia. His doctoral dissertation, which won the Alain Fournier Ph.D. Dissertation Annual Award, focused on models of motor control for physically-simulated virtual humans. Dr. Coros's research lies at the intersection of Computer Graphics, Robotics, Biomechanics and Digital Fabrication. More specifically, he is interested in developing models of motor control, motion planning algorithms, physics-based simulation tools and computational design methods for 3D printable devices.

Arka Majumdar, Assistant Professor, EE, Physics, Washington

Professor Arka Majumdar received his Bachelor of Technology degree from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur in 2007, where he was honored with the Gold Medal from the President of India. Majumdar completed his master’s degree (2009) and Ph.D. (2012) in Electrical Engineering at Stanford University, working on solid-state quantum optics. He spent one year at the University of California, Berkeley (2012-13) as a postdoc before joining Intel Labs in Santa Clara to work on next generation electro-optic modulators and optical sensors (2013-14). Majumdar accepted a faculty position at the University of Washington, Seattle in the Electrical Engineering and Physics departments in August 2014. His research interests include combining emerging nano-photonic devices with computational algorithms to build compact optical sensors to support the growing Infrastructure of the Internet of Things. Majumdar is the recipient of the Young Investigator Award from the Air Force Office of Scientific Research.

Raluca Ada Popa, Assistant Professor, UC Berkeley

Raluca Ada Popa is an Assistant Professor at UC, Berkeley. Before joining UC Berkeley, she was a post-doctoral fellow at ETH Zürich in the System Security group led by Prof. Srdjan Capkun. She earned her Ph.D. degree in computer science from MIT, where she built practical systems that compute over encrypted data, and designed new encryption schemes that underlie these systems. Dr. Popa is the recipient of a George M. Sprowls Award for best MIT CS doctoral thesis, Google Ph.D. Fellowship for secure cloud computing, Johnson award for best C.S. Masters of Engineering thesis from MIT, and CRA Outstanding undergraduate award from the ACM. She earned two B.S. degrees from MIT, in computer science and in mathematics. Her research areas are security, systems, and applied cryptography.

Arijit Raychowdhury, Associate Professor, Georgia Institute of Technology

Arijit Raychowdhury (M-’07, SM-’13) is an Associate Professor in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology where he currently holds the ON Semiconductor Junior Research Professorship. He received his Ph.D. degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Purdue University and his B.E. in Electrical and Telecommunication Engineering from Jadavpur University, India. He joined Georgia Tech in January, 2013. His industry experience includes five years as a Staff Scientist in the Circuits Research Lab, Intel Corporation and a year as an Analog Circuit Designer with Texas Instruments Inc. His research interests include digital and mixed-signal circuit design, design of on-chip sensors, memory, and device-circuit interactions. Dr. Raychowdhury holds more than 25 U.S. and international patents and has published over 100 articles in journals and refereed conferences. He is the winner of the NSF CRII Award, 2015; Intel Labs Technical Contribution Award, 2011; Dimitris N. Chorafas Award for outstanding doctoral research, 2007; the Best Thesis Award, College of Engineering, Purdue University, 2007; Best Paper Awards at the International Symposium on Low Power Electronic Design (ISLPED) 2012, 2006; IEEE Nanotechnology Conference, 2003; SRC Technical Excellence Award, 2005; Intel Foundation Fellowship 2006, NASA INAC Fellowship 2004, and the Meissner Fellowship 2002. Dr. Raychowdhury is a Senior Member of the IEEE.