• <More on Intel.com

Explore the Curriculum

Explore the Curriculum

Explore the Curriculum

This section constitutes the curriculum portion of The Journey InsideSM. Use the links below or the tabs at the top of the page to complete any or all of the materials. Students and teachers alike may wish to bookmark this page for easy reference. The Journey InsideSM is divided into the following six sections:

Introduction to Computers ›
This section provides short history of the computer, introduces the four major components of a computer, and compares computer "brains" with the human brain.

Circuits and Switches ›
This section teaches students about electricity, electric circuits, and the difference between mechanical and non-mechanical (transistors) switches.

Digital Information ›
This section explores the differences between the decimal and binary number systems and how the information is represented and processed using binary code.

Microprocessors ›
This section investigates how microprocessors process information, demonstrates the size and the complexity of their circuitry, and explains how they are manufactured.

The Internet ›
This section defines the Internet, then goes on to explain the World Wide Web, hypertext, URLs, packets, bandwidth, connection choices, search engines, and the need to critically evaluate the quality of the information found on the Web. 

Technology and Society ›
This section discusses the impact technological advances have on people's lives, with examples from the past and current day. Numerous side stories provide insights on ways the digital age is already affecting our lives. The final section talks about the accelerating rate of change and what we might expect to see in the near future.

Explore the Curriculum

Bookmark This Page!

Students, add this page to your favorites or create a bookmark so you can easily return to The Journey InsideSM.