Home ›Intel Asia Pacific Social Responsibility › In the News › Intel Vietnam Named Top Foreign Investor in ICT Development ›
Intel Vietnam Named Top Foreign Investor in ICT Development
The Vietnamese Government has named Intel Vietnam a top foreign investor in national ICT development at the Vietnam Information, Communication and Technology Awards (VICTA).

The VICTA awards honor organizations involved in mobile telecommunications, Internet, software and digital information sources which significantly contribute to the health of Vietnam’s ICT sector. The 2010 VICTA Award, announced in April 2011, was delivered to Intel by the Ministry of Information and Communications (MIC).

Intel Vietnam was recognized for developing the local ICT workforce, its contribution to the popularization of ICT (personal computing and Internet use) and its collaboration with state organizations. As part of its commitment, Intel Vietnam trained more than 5,000 local computer producers and 20,000 IT experts on the latest PC technology. It also provided technical and marketing support to local brands such as FPT Lead, Vinh Trinh and Vinh Xuan.

Supporting education programs is a key priority for Intel in Vietnam. It is collaborating with eight local university partners and government departments to run the Higher Education Engineering Alliance Program (HEEAP), which is improving the quality of higher education curriculum. Intel makes it possible for students pursuing engineering to attend domestic and international universities by offering scholarships.

Rick Howarth, General Manager Intel Products Vietnam, said: “At Intel, we are committed to contributing to the local communities in which we operate. A strong high-tech sector is essential to sustainable economic growth, and we are honored to contribute by building local talent through education and collaborating with our industry and government partners to foster innovation.”

Dignitaries present at the event included: Vice President of Vietnam, Madame Nguyen Thi Doan; Mr. Dinh The Huynh, Politburo member; Mr. Nguyen Duc Kien, Vice Chairman of the National Assembly; and Mr. Le Doan Hop, Minister of MIC.